superficial scratches

eye30 · 16 · 8131

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Does anyone have any thoughts on how to remove superficial scratches from paint.

The scraches are just surface and only see them when the sun hits ant certain angle.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline EymaTeapot

• 6th Gear

• au Australia
      Canberra
G-Day,

One way to reduce the fine scratshes you speak of is to use a mild cut polish. There are polishes on the market now that come in colours to match the cars duco, red,black grey ect. Turtle wax do one and i have used it on mine and it does seem to hide the fine scraches to a degree. It is suposed to get into the crevices. What I do is give the car a polish with a mild Cut and polish agent, The one i use is made by Kitten. Be sure to use a CLEAN soft rag or you will just add more scratches. Polish off than apply the colour polish and leave to dry before polising off again. I usually finish off with one more coat, this time Auto glym super resin. It is the best wax on the market and leaves the finish looking great.

Offline LeeUm

• 1st Gear

• au Australia
      Perth WA
    • http://www.i30ownersclub.com/
Another handy item to use is the kitchen cleaner jif. not sure if it is available outside Aus. It does a really good job at removing the little scratches.

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Hi Leeum ..

Thanks for the suggestion about Jiff. I'm sure it would work but need to be careful not to take the whole clear coat layer off on metallic finishes :!:
  • 2021 MG PHEV ( had 4 x i30 plus a Getz an Elantra and a Tucson)

Offline EymaTeapot

• 6th Gear

• au Australia
      Canberra
Dazz is right,