Can the Lada make a British comeback?

eye30 · 20 · 4924

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Lada, the car that spawned a thousand playground jokes, could be returning to UK showrooms. But will British motorists take the Russian marque to their hearts?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/8672464.stm
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
NO!

"The Lada showed how poor the Soviet Union was at producing consumer goods," he says.
"They may have been able to launch Sputnik into space but they couldn't manufacture a decent car to drive back on Earth."

Let it lie. Please.
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline bumpkin

• V.I.P
  • Keeping it in the family!

• scotland Scotland
      Aberdeen
 :lol: :lol: :lol:

The reason that the UK was one of the few markets where Lada were a success was because compared to British Leyland you got the same quality for half the price, I feel we just might have moved on from that.

They want to price at £5000 in two years time, you can get a lot of car for £5000 these days and in two years time there will be a variety of second hand i10 and i20's floating around for that kind of money and still with some warranty remaining :D
  • Kia Sportage 3, 1.7 CRDi EcoDynamics

Offline hipposniper

• 5th Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      Devon

• ex-Heidi..North Devon.UK
laugh we may, but look what they are unveiling,

Yeap its a Lada.,.. :eek:  :P

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
But what, I wonder, is under the pea-green coat?
  • Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline penak

• 2nd Gear