i30 Owners Club

Can you remove touch-up paint?

Twempie · 17 · 24190

Offline Twempie

• 2nd Gear
Spotted a couple of small stone chips on the bonnet and purchased a touch up stick.  I foolishly applied the paint using the brush supplied with the touch-up stick and the 'repair' look awful.  Is there any way I can safely remove the touch up paint and start again using better application techniques mentioned elsewhere on the forum?  If so, can anyone advise as to what products I should use and where I can purchase them here in the UK?

Cheers
Twempie

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
I did sometouch up and must say it looks really really naf.

I wait a reply also.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Twempie

• 2nd Gear
Same problem here - the paint went on too thickly.  Although it covers just a small bit of the bonnet it is really noticeable and obvious.

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
I'd buy a packet of wooden toothpicks and use them to pick the paint out.

Similarly, toothpicks can be used to reapply the paint - they only hold a minute amount of paint and let you apply it sparingly. That's what I've done. Takes a bit longer but it does work.

• Ioniq MY2018 SE Premium Hybrid in Polar White with added oomph

Offline Twempie

• 2nd Gear
Thanks for the advice re- the toothpicks.  Don't know if it would if it would remove the excess paint that is sitting on the 'good' surface between the two chips that are about half an inch apart. 
Cheers

Offline Shambles

• Admin
  • Retyred @ Last

• england England
      Manchester, UK
    • i30 Owners Club
Thanks for the advice re- the toothpicks.  Don't know if it would if it would remove the excess paint that is sitting on the 'good' surface between the two chips that are about half an inch apart. 
Cheers