i30 Owners Club

High beam not working

Offline druggist

• 3rd Gear
  • magunuthVE

• pn Pitcairn
      Usa

• Hyundai i30 SX CRDi 1.6 manual CW 2010 MY11
I changed the bulbs in my CW HDi today to Osram night breakers. Neither high beam bulb is working. I've tried both old & new bulbs. I've only had the car a month and am not sure if they ever worked. When you "flash" your lights low beam comes on as well and I am not sure if I have just seen low beam when I was driving and flashed lights. Blue light comes on dash.
I've checked fuses, and haven't got time to take it back to dealer this week.
Have I missed something obvious?

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Is bulb OK?

It may have been duff when you bought it.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline 2i30s

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      Hampton Park,Vic
Is bulb OK?

It may have been duff when you bought it.
  he's upgraded the originals,buy doesn't know if they were working to start with.
  • 2009 manual sx hatch and 2009 automatic sx cw. both 2.0 petrol.

Offline druggist

• 3rd Gear
  • magunuthVE

• pn Pitcairn
      Usa

Managed to get into local service department today.

problem fixed "Checked Earth Points as required. Found earth at both globes not present. Repaired loose earths"

whatever that means.

More of a concern was the service managers comment that diesel i30s are blowing headlight bulbs due to a surge produced by the alternator at startup. Made worse if you leave lights on, with auto On/Off.

They might replace alternator after 3 or 4 return visits if problem doesn't resolve.

Anyone at Hyundai care to comment. Local service isn't the best here on the upper north shore of Sydney.

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net