i30 Owners Club

Does Hyundai recommend any diesel additives ?

Offline alan2938

• 3rd Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      South Yorkshire UK
Does Hyundai recommend any diesel additives ?

If members use diesel additives,  what are your views?

Offline rustynutz

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      South Gippsland

Pip
Just curious, is it supposedly good enough for you to use (as a fellow sceptic - apologies if I have misjudged you), and if these things are so good, why are they not mainstream?

I have no knowledge at all but I do wonder why some of the best kept secrets are not more universally used by the major players. Is it a commercial reason or is it just snake oil?

Having said that... I'm really starting to think that some engine oil products are moving away from absolute protection towards more marketable aims such as greater economy and less polution.

Offline rustynutz

• Top Gear

• au Australia
      South Gippsland
Guess I am a bit of a sceptic but that doesn't always stop me trying things out.
I ran a Nulon oil additive for pretty much the life of my previous car so was happy enough to try some of this out in my i30 and after 4-5 thousand K's I believe the engine run's slightly quieter, I could be imagining that though..lol.

http://www.liqui-moly.com.au/products/oil-additives/
http://www.liqui-moly.com.au/proof/

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Here un Uk I don't bother with additives.

If you believe all the fuel companies advertising about our fuels then additives are already in them and no need to add more.
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Lakes

• V.I.P

• au Australia
      Deep south coast, New South Wales