Cruise Control jerks.....

eye30 · 34 · 10322

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
On my new i30 I've got CC but I've noticed that if I set it when I'm doing less than mid 50's mph it seems to have a jerking to it. 

I can only describe it as if you are moving at a predetermined speed, say 50, then you take your foot off the gas and the car slows, say 45, then you accelerate back to 50.

Once I'm above mid 50's it maintains a smooth movement.

Anyone else have this jerking movement?

Also, when in CC mode when going down a slope/hill it "pulls" back as if it is applying the brakes to prevent the car exceeding the preset CC limit.

Does anyone else get this?

Are the brakes being applied and if so are the rear brake light on?
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
The CC on my car is quite smooth - but I rarely use it other than on a motorway. About town I prefer to use the speed limiter to prevent me from exceeding the speed limit but give me full control of the car at all speeds below the limit..

I do notice however that on a downhill slope the engine braking feels more jerky than when the CC is off. I put this down to the CC trying to keep the car at a constant speed on the over-run whereas if the CC is off you would tend to let it over speed a little and gently apply the brakes or throttle to maintain a reasonable speed.

• 2021 KIA Niro3 1.6 petrol Hybrid

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

I do notice however that on a downhill slope the engine braking feels more jerky than when the CC is off. I put this down to the CC trying to keep the car at a constant speed on the over-run