i30 Owners Club

CLUNK!!!!!

Offline whitbomb07

• 5th Gear

• au Australia
      Newcastle, Australia
Hey guys

Was going for a drive today and had to throw the anchors out at one point (some idiot stopped in front of me) and whilst braking there was a loud Clunk that came from the front. I've got no idea what it was, I didn't see ABS light up and it didn't seem to be something associated with ABS (I personally haven't activated ABS ever, though I've been told what it's like) it was just one big CLUNK!!! Right at the end before I stopped.

I ran the car up a few times and used heavy braking (still not seeing a ABS light though) and nothing happened, so I continued on my way.

Car seems fine, nothing noticeable wron, looked underneath and everything looked fine. (Although I'm no expert)

Anybody else have this happen?

Thanks In Advance

Cheers

Daniel

Offline camerooney

• 5th Gear

• au Australia
      South Coast NSW

• NSW Australia
I havent had anything like this happen.
I sometimes get a slight clunk when taking off but not very often.

Perhaps it was just the brakes gripping?
The car is still new so I would expect things to be a little stiff.

I've never had to brake too hard in mine yet luckily so perhaps thats why I havent heard it..
If I get a quite road somewhere tomorrow I'll see if it happens to me.

Cam

Offline camerooney

• 5th Gear

• au Australia
      South Coast NSW

• NSW Australia
I found a quite backstreet today and tested the brakes.
Halting to a stop from 50kms and 70kms.

I did hear a clunk at one stage but I was braking downhill. It only sounded like the brakes gripping though.

Cam

Offline Thumper

• 5th Gear

• au Australia
      ACT
You'll probably find it was indeed the ABS cutting in for a second as you jumped on the anchors just a tad too hard.