i30 Owners Club

1.4 engine versus 1.6

Offline nickcoffer

• 1st Gear

• gb United Kingdom
      London
Good evening everyone

I was looking for a Ford Focus and have now been tempted towards the i30. The thing that strikes me the most is how much people who actually own the car enjoy driving it.

I am a little confused about the 1.4 v the 1.6. There seems to be very little difference in top speeds, BHP etc (sorry, I am no car expert).

My car will mainly be for the commute to work - 3 or 4 miles of A road plus 15 miles of motorway each way.

The reviews say that the 1.4 is sweet, supple and willing.

Can I please ask, how does it cope with motorways in general? I am no racer at all but there is nothing worse than an engine which feels asthmatic on the motorway.

What have your experiences been? How does the 1.4 drive on the motorway? Does it have enough in it? Is it good enough for overtaking? Does it need to be revved really hard on the motorway and is hence noisy?

In a nutshell, is the 1.6 worth the extra?!

Thank you very much indeed for any advice you can give...

All the best

Nick
  • i30 1.4

Offline Asterix

• V.I.P
  • i40 CRDi 100kW 2013

• dk Denmark
      Sdr. Omme - DK
Hi Nick

I can't advise you about the petrol's, as I drive the diesel, but a big Welcome to the forum, I can give you... :mrgreen:
  • i40 CRDi 100 kW 2013

Offline Dazzler

• Admin
  • Laughter is the best medicine...

• au Australia
      Devonport Tasmania

• Best Car Forum on the Net
Welcome Nick,

We don't even get the 1.4 petrol in Australia(or the 1.6 petrol in the new model)

However, most feedback on here suggests the 1.4 is ok performance wise. If where you live and drive is reasonably flat country I would suspect the 1.4 would be fine but if you are going to be doing much driving in hillier areas it might be worth the extra for the 1.6.