i30 Owners Club

What is that black dotted mesh near the rear-view mirror in i30 ?

Offline PawelPabich

• 2nd Gear

• au Australia
      Brisbane
Hi,

I wondering if you guys know what that dotted mesh is? On one hand I'm simply curious but on the other hand I need to install an e-Tag and I'm wondering if that would a good spot for it.

Thanks

Pawel
  • i30

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

• Wirral, UK. - 1.4 Petrol Active - Aqua Blue
Just part of the window make up  i.e. cosmetic

Don't think it does anything like some form of solar panel
  • 1.4 Petrol Active I'm no expert, so please correct me if

Offline Just Rick

• V.I.P
  • Big Dogs Rule

• au Australia
      Beverley Western Australia

• miracles can happen
Pawel
This is an anti glare mesh,some cars have them the width of the windscreen,but most are just behind the mirror,the theory is that it stops the glare when looking into the mirror,thats how it was explained to me,I asked the sme question some years go when I got my commodore it hase the same mesh but a little more of it.
  • 2011 SLX CRDI 6 Spd, 2010 Holden Cruze CD Diesel and 2001 Hyundai Accent Coupe

ouri30
It's also the only part of the windscreen not covered by the sun visors.  I'd like to see it across the full width of the screen.

Reminds me of the black contact I fitted across the top of my XY Falcon back in 1971.  Lasted for years.

Offline eye30

• Global Moderator
  • HOS BOSS

• england England
      Wirral

Reminds me of the black contact I fitted across the top of my XY Falcon back in 1971.  Lasted for years.

Did you have yours and her names as well

ouri30

Did you have yours and her names as well

Oh no! God forbid!

Offline AlanHo

• Global Moderator
  • Geriatric Teenager

• england England
      Solihull, UK

• 2021 KIA Niro 3 1.6 Petrol Hybrid
It is to stop you from tucking your car video camera behind the mirror and right at the top of the windscreen so it is nicely out of sight.